YOUR BASKET IS EMPTY

Your wish list is empty

zoom

Deep Winter Base Layer

$165.00

Deep Winter Base Layer is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 89.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_DBL01, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha
See all reviews »

Highly insulating base layer for training and racing in very cold conditions. Features include long-cut sleeves with thumb loops and a close-fitting hood for maximum insulation.

Deep Winter Base Layer$165.00

Please select an item above

Email me when back in stock

Email me when back in stock

Hooded cycling base layer created for the very coldest days

The Deep Winter Base Layer has been created for training and racing in very cold conditions. It is made from two different weights of merino-rich fabric to provide the optimum balance between insulation and breathability. The leading edges – the hood, chest and arms – are made from a heavier jersey material (340gsm) for maximum protection from the wind, while the lower front body and back panel use a lighter version of the same material (240gsm). Both weights of fabric are high wicking, breathable, and extremely soft against the skin.

The sleeves have a two-piece construction to create a more comfortable shape when riding, and are also cut long and finished with thumb loops so they can be tucked securely into gloves. The hood is designed to fit under a helmet and features a ‘frogman’ face which can be worn over the mouth or under the chin depending on conditions. Flatlock seams throughout ensure the base layer won’t chafe and white reflective tabs on the hood and chest provide visibility in low-light conditions.

The hood is a nice touch that eliminates the need for an additional balaclava or scarf.

FEATURES

  • Two weight fabric construction
  • Long-cut, two-piece sleeve 
  • Thumb loops
  • Close-cut hood
  • Reflective piping
  • Itch-free
  • Naturally anti-bacterial, high wicking and odour resistant 
  • Raglan sleeves
  • Dropped tail for improved on-bike fit
  • Flatlock seams

FABRIC

  • Hood, chest and arms:
    98% merino (18.9 micron); 2% Elastane (340gsm)
  • Lower body and back:
    95% merino (18.9 micron); 5% Spandex, (240gsm)

CARE INSTRUCTIONS

  • Hand or machine wash cool
  • Wash dark colours separately
  • Use Rapha Merino Wash, wool or non-bio detergent
  • Cold rinse well
  • Do not leave wet
  • Do not tumble dry
  • Lay flat to dry 
  • Do not bleach
  • Do not dry clean
  • Cool iron: 1 dot

Body sizing

Chest: measure underneath the armpits with the tape measure straight around.
Back Length: measure from the bottom of where your collar sits/base of the neck to the bottom of your spine.
Arm length: measure from where the seam would start at shoulder to bottom of the wrist.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready for the cold Riding trails in the Sierras gets cold in the winter. Even below the snow level, its still well below freezing every morning. This jersey is perfect for those freezing cold rides.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and luxurious I am 5' 8" and 170 lbs, the large is very long and hugs the body comfortably. This is the thickest base layer Rapha has (I own them all), and the material is thick, soft and luxurious. For Wisconsin winters, this will be my go to base layer for midwinter commutes where the temperature plunges below 0 F. I have not had the opportunity to use it yet, the hood will be a new experiment. You can push it back if not needed.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised at how good this is I am terrible in the winter and have looked at this base layer hundreds of times but ran away due to the price, even after reading reviews of people saying its pricey but its great quality. Been out a few times in temps around -1 to 5 and this top really works, when you unzip you can actually see the moisture sitting on the outside surface. The balclava is a lovely tight fit no loose bits hanging around anywhere. Love this top even though it does hurt the wallet when purchasing.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely warm I bought this is a spare to the one I already have. When it's real winter, this is the real base layer I need. I have worn it down to -40F (-40C too). Obviously when it's that cold, I wear many warm layers on top of it too. It fits well. The fabric is smooth against the skin. The hood is especially nice. I can regulate temperature by putting it on or taking it off during the ride. If you ride in the winter, you need this.
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I tried this out last weekend. Wore it with a Rapha core winter jacket, with the temperature 4-7C. Excellent. It seemed a bit tight around the neck when I put it on indoors but didn’t notice on the bike. Good fit. Lovely to be able to put the hood up. Super cosy but not too hot. I’d probably wear it to 2C with the core winter jacket but anything lower - I.e, deep winter - I’d try more layers or a different jacket.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game Changer This is now a indispensable part of my cold weather kit. The integrated hood and face protection negate the need for a skullcap and neck tube. The fabric is excellent and the fit is bang on.
Date published: 2017-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy of the season. I’ve now taken this marino base layer out for a week of riding in temperatures from 27-40 degrees and will say it’s the single best purchase I have mad for winter riding. Ever. I wore it under the rapha winter jacket and the combination is perfectly matched to balance a comfortable ride temp and maximum flexibility.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really warm I have many but this is the best base layer I own. It just feels pure quality, is really warm and feels like it will last many years.
Date published: 2017-10-25
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_89
  • loc_en_US, sid_DBL01, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha

Hi, I wear a xxl in the core winter jacket and have never tried any of your base layers; would you recommend a L in this or a M?

Asked by: Anonimo
It does depend upon your Chest size, but would suggest the Large Base Layer rather than the Medium if you normally wear an XXL as we recommend downsizing by one size for Base Layers
Answered by: Rapha_SC
Date published: 2017-10-03

Hello, is the material in the hood and neck area thicker, thinner, or same compared to the Deep Winter Collar?

Asked by: vincenz
Hi, the material is the same thickness in both these products. Both have a high weight of merino for very cold conditions.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-11-09

Hi! Should I buy the same size I use for other base layers? I noticed the size range ends at large? Thanks

Asked by: Wintery
Hi, we would recommend you choose the same size as you would normally wear in a merino base layer. The Merino Base Layers in general come up quite large so you may wish to size down one size.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-12

Hi! Any idea if this piece is going to be released in another colours?

Asked by: Hector_Gatsby
Hi, we will be releasing another colour of a very similar product.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-09-09

Currently wear size 's for jersey n Base layer Suze xs and for deep winter Base layer which size recommend? 

Asked by: keong16
Hi, if you wear the XS in your base layers we would suggest that you order the XS in the deep winter base layer. We do have a free 90 day return period should you need to exchange.
Answered by: Rapha_MJ
Date published: 2016-01-25

Can you pull the hood down if things warm up a bit? Is the material stretchy enough to get your whole head out through the face hole if necessary?

Asked by: OrthoMatt
The 'hood' can be pulled down over the head.
Answered by: Rapha_MJ
Date published: 2016-01-11
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_6
  • loc_en_US, sid_DBL01, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha

PAIR WITH

Rapha Service

If you have purchased a jersey this year and lost weight through riding, Rapha would like to offer you a 50% discount on your new size jersey.
Learn more

Take advantage of our 30-day guarantee on any of the Rapha Classic products below. If you aren't 100% satisfied within 30 days of riding in these products, you can send them back to us for a full refund/ credit.
Learn more

Rapha offers a free repair service where a crash or accident has damaged a garment or a failure has occurred even after significant usage.
Learn more

Similar Items

SHARE THIS