Deep Winter Base Layer

$165.00

Deep Winter Base Layer is rated 4.8182 out of 5 by 44.
  • 2016-02-09T09:09CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_DBL01, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_rapha
See all reviews »

Highly insulating base layer for training and racing in very cold conditions. Features include long-cut sleeves with thumb loops and a close-fitting hood for maximum insulation.

zoom

Hooded cycling base layer created for the very coldest days

The Deep Winter Base Layer has been created for training and racing in very cold conditions. It is made from two different weights of merino-rich fabric to provide the optimum balance between insulation and breathability. The leading edges – the hood, chest and arms – are made from a heavier jersey material (340gsm) for maximum protection from the wind, while the lower front body and back panel use a lighter version of the same material (240gsm). Both weights of fabric are high wicking, breathable, and extremely soft against the skin.

The sleeves have a two-piece construction to create a more comfortable shape when riding, and are also cut long and finished with thumb loops so they can be tucked securely into gloves. The hood is designed to fit under a helmet and features a ‘frogman’ face which can be worn over the mouth or under the chin depending on conditions. Flatlock seams throughout ensure the base layer won’t chafe and white reflective tabs on the hood and chest provide visibility in low-light conditions.

The hood is a nice touch that eliminates the need for an additional balaclava or scarf.

FEATURES

  • Two weight fabric construction
  • Long-cut, two-piece sleeve 
  • Thumb loops
  • Close-cut hood
  • Reflective piping
  • Itch-free
  • Naturally anti-bacterial, high wicking and odour resistant 
  • Raglan sleeves
  • Dropped tail for improved on-bike fit
  • Flatlock seams

FABRIC

  • Hood, chest and arms:
    98% merino (18.9 micron); 2% Elastane (340gsm)
  • Lower body and back:
    95% merino (18.9 micron); 5% Spandex, (240gsm)

CARE INSTRUCTIONS

  • Hand or machine wash cool
  • Wash dark colours separately
  • Use Rapha Merino Wash, wool or non-bio detergent
  • Cold rinse well
  • Do not leave wet
  • Do not tumble dry
  • Lay flat to dry 
  • Do not bleach
  • Do not dry clean
  • Cool iron: 1 dot

Body sizing

Chest: measure underneath the armpits with the tape measure straight around.
Back Length: measure from the bottom of where your collar sits/base of the neck to the bottom of your spine.
Arm length: measure from where the seam would start at shoulder to bottom of the wrist.

    CM IN

  • XS S M L XL XXL
    Chest < 84 84-91 91-99 99-107 107-115 115+
    Back
    length
    50-56 56-62 62-68 68-74 74-80 80+
    Arm
    length
    < 60 60-62 62-64 64-66 66-68 68+
  • XS S M L XL XXL
    Chest < 33 33-36 36-39 39-42 42-45 45+
    Back
    length
    20-22 22-24 24-27 27-29 29-31 31+
    Arm
    length
    < 24 24-24.5 24.5-25 25-26 26-26.5 26.5+
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bas layer I,ve worn. I have used this severel times now, and are 100% satisfied. It is warm, comfortable, fits well and the hood are the best hood I,ve had due to the stretch linings. Planning on using it for cross country skiing as well, but no snow i Norway this year so far. This garment are better than any skigarments that I own, and own a lot. A big recommendention from me.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect hood Perfect fit. Soft wool. Perfect fit of the hood. Especially suited for below zero degrees Celsius conditions. Actually very nice for xc skiing in the mountains as well as winter biking. The hood can be comfortably pulled over your head without giving you a feeling of strangulation.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect snow villain costume Performed perfect during a 17h snow blizzard-brevet.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing and essential piece of winter gear This is an amazing garment which has greatly simplified my winter riding wardrobe. The material is much thicker than most base layers and I use it comfortably with a thick jersey (the brevet jersey) in temperatures down to -5 degrees. With more windproof outer layers, it will do for colder than that. There is no longer a need for a hat, and my head is always very comfortable. The addition of facial protection makes it ideal. Extremely pleased with this fantastic item.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great fit and performance! Tested at -14C (with multiple layers) and -2C (single layer).
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perhaps the most wonderful piece of kit Simply amazing. This base layer is perfect for a winter ride here in Canada. The integrated hood a neck piece means you won't need additional bulky layers and you won't feel a draft.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and nice product The Base layer is very highly regarded , comfortable its well and the hood are the best! Excellent!
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter piece My first Rapha purchase :) I am fairly new to cycling and at first was a little put off by Rapha's over the top marketing. I will say though I am a bit of a convert. Have commuted w/wind chill as cold as -5F with just this and a "breathable" non-insulated cycling hardshell and been warm enough up top. Haven't done any hard road riding with it yet but imagine it might be too warm if going hard unless it's really cold. Slightly more generous fit than the medium winter base layer but still nice and fitted. I am 5'9" 165 lbs, a bit more built than average cyclist. Super comfy, don't want to take it off after I get home.
Date published: 2016-01-29
  • 2016-02-09T09:09CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_DBL01, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_rapha

Currently wear size 's for jersey n Base layer Suze xs and for deep winter Base layer which size recommend? 

Asked by: keong16
Hi, if you wear the XS in your base layers we would suggest that you order the XS in the deep winter base layer. We do have a free 90 day return period should you need to exchange.
Answered by: Rapha_MJ
Date published: 2016-01-25

Can you pull the hood down if things warm up a bit? Is the material stretchy enough to get your whole head out through the face hole if necessary?

Asked by: OrthoMatt
The 'hood' can be pulled down over the head.
Answered by: Rapha_MJ
Date published: 2016-01-17
  • 2016-02-09T09:09CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.1.6
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_en_US, sid_DBL01, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_rapha

Rapha Service

If you have purchased a jersey this year and lost weight through riding, Rapha would like to offer you a 50% discount on your new size jersey.
Learn more

Take advantage of our 30-day guarantee on any of the Rapha Classic products below. If you aren't 100% satisfied within 30 days of riding in these products, you can send them back to us for a full refund/ credit.
Learn more

Rapha offers a free repair service where a crash or accident has damaged a garment or a failure has occurred even after significant usage.
Learn more

Similar Items