YOUR BASKET IS EMPTY

Your wish list is empty

zoom

Classic Winter Jacket

$385.00

Classic Winter Jacket is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 45.
  • y_2017, m_9, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_SJK08XX, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha
See all reviews »

Over a decade in development, the Classic Winter Jacket is the evolutionary outcome of every cold weather jacket we’ve made.

Classic Winter Jacket$385.00

Please select an item above

Cold weather warmth, 10 years in the making

The Classic Winter Jacket is our most versatile bad weather jacket, redesigned for the needs of the modern rider. An evolutionary leap ahead from our Classic Softshell and Hardshell, it is the ideal garment for winter base miles, with the ability to withstand the harshest conditions on any kind of ride. Cut from Polartec® Power Shield Pro® fabric, it combines wind- and waterproofing with incredible breathability, efficiently transferring moisture vapour away from the skin while keeping the elements at bay. Added underarm zips allow for increased ventilation when the temperature, or the intensity, rises.

Designed to be used across a range of winter temperatures as part of a layering system, the Classic Winter Jacket features hi-vis detailing for riding in low light, as well as taped seams, waterproof zips and elastane inner cuffs to keep you comfortable and dry, whatever the weather.

“… a high-quality water and wind-resistant jacket that's ideal for tackling any sort of weather you're likely to encounter on a winter ride. It could be the last jacket you'll ever need to buy.”
★★★★☆ David Arthur, Road.cc

FEATURES

  • Waterproof and wind-resistant with comfortable stretch
  • Highly breathable fabric regulates temperature during hard efforts
  • Taped internal seams to keep out the worst of the weather
  • Concealed front pocket
  • Debossed logo on sleeve
  • Drainage holes in rear pockets

FABRIC

Polartec® Power Shield Pro®:

  • 90% polyester
  • 10% elastane

CARE INSTRUCTIONS

  • Machine wash 30°C
  • Tumble dry low
  • Do not iron
  • Do not bleach
  • Do not dry clean

Body sizing

Chest: measure underneath the armpits with the tape measure straight around.
Back Length: measure from the bottom of where your collar sits/base of the neck to the bottom of your spine.
Arm length: measure from where the seam would start at shoulder to bottom of the wrist.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket I've been out in this jacket for about 5 rides and it's great when the weather varies from very cold and then mild, wet and then dry. It's very versatile, keeps you warm but is very breathable. It's also a great fit and looks great. At around 4 or 5 degrees centigrade, I had just a long sleeve base layer, which was fine and cosy. Yes it's on the pricey side but you won't regret it, it's great value for money.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Fit Jacket is a good fit. The jacket keeps me warm and also allows me excellent range of movement in my upper torso.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I'm 176cm and 95kg. XL is a true fit allowing for winter baselayer plus jersey underneath. Although I've been riding in sub zero temps this has still provided adequate warmth and when pulling hard the vent zips have allowed heat escape with opening the front zip. Long sleeves work well with gloves (overlaying or tucked in) and permit to stretched out stance without lifting the jackets tail and so exposing the back. Rear pockets are a touch too high for comfortable use, but are large and well constructed to keep everything in for longer cold wet base fitness rides. Overall in my opinion this is certainly the best winter jacket I've owned (Italian,spanish or Swedish).
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket but odd sizing! Great jacket and warm enough at 3oC with just a merino wool base layer. I have 42 inch chest but XL (42-45) was far too small and XXL (45-48) just right!
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent jacket Warm, comfortable and easily adjustable to changing conditions. The ventilation system on this jacket is superb. It allows for adjustments on the go as you need it.
Date published: 2017-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light comfortable effective Been out in cold but dry conditions and the jacket was warm and comfortable with a couple of layers underneath. Haven't worn it in the wet yet but it feels like it will do the job well.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite jacket I bought this as I tend to get very cold in the winter on the bike. Over the last couple of weekends I've worn this on cold dry rides and wet muddy rides. The first time I wore it I was too hot, having put on a base layer, brevet jersey and this. The next time I managed to get away with swapping the brevet for a thinner jersey. The jacket keeps out the wettest weather and has kept me warm in the cold. It fits well, and i love the zipper being off-set. One thing to note, if you are gloved up, getting the vents under the arms open can be a challenge.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well cut, top quality winter cycling jacket Excellent material, cut and cold weather performance. However the three rear pockets are slighty too narrow.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jacket It's a tiny bit short but the quality/stitching/fabric and warmth are surprising!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cut and highly breathable fabric. This really is the best winter jacket Rapha have made, the cut is superb, enough space for a winter base layer and if needed an insulated gilet or the new insulated jacket, most importantly its way more breathable than the old hardshell...
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable cosey low temperature suit I am completely happy to wear it for riding at low temperatures an rate it 10/10
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good verry good .................................................................
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical Jacket This is definitely an improvement on the Softshell - it is incredibly light, fists well and is impossibly cosy for something so light. I wore it last week in -6 C with a long sleeve merino base underneath and I was comfortable for the duration of an hour ride - and am sure I would have remained so. I have also worn it in10 C and the breathability certainly kept sweat to a minimum - I was much drier than a precious similar ride where I wore the rain jacket. The chartreuse is a good visible colour for winter. Minor criticisms are that the pockets are tight at the back and it could use some reflective bits maybe. Neither of these would stop me giving this 5 stars.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this jacket Bought this because I had some time off in December and wanted to ensure I had the gear to go out in any weather and get some miles in. Been out in fog, frost and strong winds and this jacket is awesome. With a base layer and jersey it is fine in windy sub zero temperatures, collar and cuffs work really well and the rear pockets are roomy enough for all the winter extras. I find myself reaching for this if there is the slightest cloud in the sky.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought the jacket in the last month and have worn out twice ,a perfect fit for me over my Rapha winter jersey comfortable great selection of pockets and vents looking forward to when it gets really cold so I can stay out on the bike and it looks great too
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Winter Jacket - excellence Purchased for winter rides; provide insulation from the cold; and protect from the elements; to be visible; the jacket accomplishes all these. That purchased provides a good fit - pockets, including the zipped one, more than adequate.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite Rapha garment This jacket is very, very stylish. Might make you want to wear it while driving or out to dinner. Don't let that fool you though. It will stand up to cold and wet rides Portland rain for 2 plus hours in 40F weather. This due to the high quality seam sealing, fabrics used, and overall construction. I am very impressed with it's design - the jacket gets tons of comments on rides (especially with the high vis pink rain flap.) You'll be riding comfortably for hours in the worst weather. Lightweight for being so very warm. Worth every penny!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as it gets... A great blend of the classic softshell and hardshell, you have all the protection of the hardshell but the jacket breathes really well, the pit vents are a fantastic addition. You have to have owned a few 'winter' jackets to really appreciate the features on this jacket. The zipped drop tail is also great and really improves visibility in the rain. I would recommend a mesh base and something like a pro team jersey or a core jersey with this, down to well below zero, its thin but very warm and you really don't need or want anything to thick under it. Fit wise, as sized, its not a close fit, it needs room to move and for you to layer up, then it feels great on the bike.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First trip out in pounding rain and i stayed dry Out in absolute down pour to test the jacket on a 30k ride. Stayed totally dry and warm.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 2nd last coat I will ever buy. Bought it last month, been using everyday for commutes and for long morning rides between 0 - 12 degrees celsius. Great with a long sleeve jersey, an awesome with just a short sleeve or base layer. Pockets are super deep, and was sitting on a dock and got splashed with a wave, totally waterproof. Cuffs and neck cuts are superb. Could probably do with better reflective stripes (i bought black)
Date published: 2016-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic winter jacket Sort of hybrid between the old softshell jacket without the shoulder patch and hardshell but nicer material and better fit. So far kept me warm with merino baselayer around 3C and try but I haven't been out in a major downpour yet. Got the chartreuse for winter visibility and mud washes out well. Haven't tried pit zips yet.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from features very good for weather protection and comfort. I just wish there was an inside small pocket instead of outside.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fits great, really warm (feels a little too warm at first then breathes), good sleeve and overall length, nice pockets / secret pockets -- my only beef is that the ends of the sleeves could be tighter, some chill can dive in there with smaller gloves -- but overall, really a great cold weather jacket
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best jacket ever! I bought this jacket a couple of weeks ago and took it for it's first ride last weekend on a cold, blustery, showery day. Instantly, I knew that I had made a great purchase. The jacket insulates, but provides plenty of breathing room. It is light, comfortable, but 100% protects from all the elements. Totally functional, extremely comfortable and looks great. What more could you ask for?
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great, works great I love this jacket. It fits beautifully and functions really well in cold, bad weather. As a bonus I have had lots of compliments too.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job Wanted a waterproof jacket to use when commuting and to take mountain biking on doubtful days. Have got to test it out in some pretty bad weather and it did the job asked of it. Seems to be pretty well built. Not exactly shaped for an older slower and, these days, somewhat less sleek guy but I got a size to fit, even if the arms have ended up slightly too long.
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight, warm and comfortable Although this jacket is light, worn with a good base layer it is very effective at keeping the wind out and your body warm. Over winter I regularly ride in -2 degrees and frosty conditions and have found this jacket works well. The arm vents work really well in cooling down if you get too hot. The only issue I have is with it being a shorter cut with deeper pockets I sometimes have trouble reaching the bottom of the pockets while riding.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy rider ! Although I haven't been out in a blizzard the jacket has served me well in most other weather conditions. Very light and soft material.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for winter and spring Would not like to rely on this jacket for very cold winter conditions, however 4C and upward it is fine, well put together and waterproof , however the back pockets seem little too high for my liking
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really impressive material The jacket i excellent for temperatures below 5 celsius. Most impressive is the material during cold rain where it keeps you dry but still breathable. Good fit, though it should be a bit longer. Some more reflective details would be great.
Date published: 2017-04-09
  • y_2017, m_9, d_21, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_SJK08XX, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha

Hi, For each of the available colours, what colour is the drop tail?  thanks

Asked by: DoctorBob
Hi, the drop tail is hi-vis pink for all colour options.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2017-05-05

I need a versatile jacket for bike packing and weight & packability is important. What is the weight of this jacket?

Asked by: Jonoelliot01
HI, this is an all around winter jacket so it is not as light as some of our other lightweight options. It weighs approximately 400g in a medium.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2017-02-10

Will it able to keep me warm under -15c to 5c? if not, kindly suggest suitable one.

Asked by: Solvonou
Hi, this jacket can be used in these very conditions if worn with suitable layering of a warm base layer and jersey. It can be worn in 5 degrees Celsius with just a base layer.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2017-02-08

Hi I wear a brevet jersey in a large, what size classic jacket should I order please?

Asked by: shaun1
Hi, we recommend you order the same size in this jacket.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2017-01-27

Hi I have a 40" chest and 35/36" waist which size would I be best to go for please? 

Asked by: Shorn
Hi, we recommend you order a large in this jacket.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-12-28

Hi Is this jacket have Silicone waist gripper to stop riding up anf if no which rapha winter jacket offer  rellly tight waist? I bought pro team soft shell jacket but was too wide in waist. Thanks 

Asked by: Dan79
Hi, this jacket does not have a silicone waist gripper. The Pro Team Training Jacket is the winter jacket with the tightest fitting waist.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-12-21

Regarding sizing.  I was an L in the classic  softshell but needed an XL in the hardshell. Which would I need for this?

Asked by: Tobus
Hi, the fit of this jacket is similar to the Classic Softshell Jacket. We recommend you choose a large. As always we do have a free 90 day returns policy if needed.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-11-21

Hi!  I have a pro team soft shell which i am finding too hot on a ride. My shadow gear is too cold especially when I slow down.  What would you recommend?

Asked by: Slowjoe
Hi, in this case, we would recommend you try the Pro Team Training Jacket. This jacket is very versatile and whilst less water-resistant than the Pro Team Softshell Jacket, it is more breathable.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-11-14

What are the differences between this jacket and the Pro Team Softshell jacket?

Asked by: Jxnatti
Hi, these jackets are both breathable and highly water-resistant but there are a number of differences. The Classic Winter Jacket is also wind-resistant and has additional features such as a hi-vis drop tail, under arm zips for additional ventilation and a fully waterproof rear zip pocket. One of the main factors in determining choice between these jackets is the fit. The Pro Team Softshell Jacket has a close, race ready fit, and feels similar to a substantial jersey whilst the Classic Winter Jacket has a more relaxed fit that lends itself to layering.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-11-11

Why doesn't it have large reflective stripes? Wouldn't that make it safer in the winter?

Asked by: Wukong
Hi, this jacket does have large reflective strips across the front and back of the shoulders and there is also reflective strips on the back of the arms. We do also have the option of darker or brighter colours.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-11-01

Hi, Based on the response to answers confirming this jacket is not as waterproof as the Hardshell is there a Hardshell jacket being re-released? I need a bombproof jacket like the Hardshell for winter riding not a water resistant jacket.

Asked by: Pastyfacepaddy
Hi, we are not currently planning to re-release the Hardshell Jacket. If you want a completely waterproof jacket, our re-designed Pro Team Race Cape would be a good option.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2017-05-13

Are the cord locks on the hem mentioned the same as the ones on the Classic Wind Jacket and Classic Gilet? I've had problems with the hard rubber of those friction locks splitting and breaking, so if they're on this jacket that could pose a problem

Asked by: Jos H
Hi, we have had very few issues with these cord locks but this jacket does have a newly designed cord lock, which is designed to sit completely flat against the body.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-24

Is this the same fabric (Polartec Power Shield Pro) as used in the Pro Team Softshell Jacket?

Asked by: volume12
Hi, as noted in the product features, the Classic Winter Jacket uses a Polartec® Power Shield Pro® fabric like the Pro Team Softshell Jacket.
Answered by: Rapha_JMD
Date published: 2016-10-21

Hi guys, any update on whether this jacket is at least as waterproof as last year's Hardshell? Is it the same material? Can't believe you weren't expecting a barrage of similar questions about it after omitting the word 'waterproof'. :-)

Asked by: Pastyfacepaddy
Hi, this jacket is not as waterproof as the Hardshell Jacket. It is made from Polartec Power Shield Pro and is far more breathable and highly water resistant. This new iteration is still designed for use in bad weather, but is a far more versatile winter jacket.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-21

Two requirements that my next jacket must meet are having windproof capability throughout the body and sleeves, not just the elastine cuffs, and warmth.  I don't go out to hammer on every ride.  Will this jacket meet these requirements?  Thanks!

Asked by: Paul M
Hi, this jacket is warm and highly water and wind resistant so it should be a good option for your rides.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-21

Is the pull zip pocket on the outside of the right rear pocket, waterproof?  Would a phone be safe in it, during a rain storm?

Asked by: Paul M
Hi, this zipped valuables is waterproof and is large enough to fit an iPhone 7 or smaller.
Answered by: Rapha_JMD
Date published: 2016-10-21

If it's a 'Classic' Jacket, why is it not covered by the Classic's Guarantee?

Asked by: GoLo72
Hi, the Classics Guarantee covers four of our original, core products, and not all Classic items. Unfortunately, it would not be possible to offer this 30 day guarantee on all of these products.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-21

Is this a development of the previous years Hard Shell jacket? If so, what are the improvements over that jacket? 

Asked by: MarkyGee
Hi, this jacket is more akin to an improvement over the Classic Softshell Jacket. This jacket retains, and improves, on the breathability of the Classic Softshell jacket, but it has greatly improved water resistance. The Classic Winter Jacket is not fully waterproof like the Classic Hardshell, but it is highly water and wind resistant. The fit has also be tweaked to eliminate excess material and zips added under the armpit to offer extra breathability if needed. The end result is an incredibly versatile, all round, winter Jacket.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-21

Is the Classic Winter Jacket waterproof all over, especially on the back? Is it made completely of Powershield fabric all over please. I do not want to get a wet back when/if it lashes down!

Asked by: speedon
Hi, the Classic Winter Jacket is water resistant instead of fully waterproof. It features the same Polartec® Power Shield Pro® material on the front and back of the jacket for weather protection in inclement conditions and enhanced breathability.
Answered by: Rapha_JMD
Date published: 2016-10-21

What temperature was this jacket tested down to? 5 degrees celsius? -5? -10? I live in Toronto. It gets down to -20, but now snow, sometimes. What would you recommend is the optimal temperature with a classic long sleeve on? thanks.

Asked by: JasonToronto
Hi, it is always hard to advise an exact temperature range as this will depend on your own temperature range and exertion level. However, this jacket could be worn on its own with a winter base layer down to around 2/3 degrees celsius. It is designed so a jersey could be layered beneath, and wearing a winter base layer and Long Sleeve Classic Jersey II, you could ride below 0 degrees celsius. If combined with a Deep Winter Base Layer, and warmer jersey, then the effective temperature range will be very low, perhaps close to a Toronto winter.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-21

Is this as waterproof as original hardshell jacket?

Asked by: Pennine crawler
Hi, this jacket is not completely waterproof like the Classic Hardshell Jacket but it is highly water-resistant and far more breathable.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-21

Will this winter jacket have zipper pulls that are large enough to find and hold while riding with Rapha's heavy winter gloves in winter?

Asked by: Peter Jon White
Hi, the zip on this jacket has been designed with winter riding in mind. The jacket has been tested in such conditions and you should be able to use the zip whilst wearing winter gloves.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-20

Where is the jacket manufactured?

Asked by: Ptra
  • y_2017, m_9, d_21, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_SJK08XX, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha

PAIR WITH

Rapha Service

If you have purchased a jersey this year and lost weight through riding, Rapha would like to offer you a 50% discount on your new size jersey.
Learn more

Take advantage of our 30-day guarantee on any of the Rapha Classic products below. If you aren't 100% satisfied within 30 days of riding in these products, you can send them back to us for a full refund/ credit.
Learn more

Rapha offers a free repair service where a crash or accident has damaged a garment or a failure has occurred even after significant usage.
Learn more

Similar Items

SHARE THIS