zoom

Classic Bib Shorts

$235.00

Classic Bib Shorts is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 347.
  • y_2016, m_12, d_7, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_347
  • loc_en_US, sid_BSS01, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha
See all reviews »

A comfortable pair of cycling shorts is the most important clothing purchase any rider can make. Rapha’s award winning Classic Bib Shorts use the best chamois pad available and are made from a durable, luxury Lycra.

Classic Bib Shorts$235.00

Please select an item above

Award Winning Bib Shorts

If you are unsure of which bib shorts to choose, take a look at our new Bib Shorts Guide

Test ride any of Rapha's Classic products to destruction and if you are not 100% satisfied within 30-days you can return them for a full refund.

A comfortable pair of cycling shorts is the most important clothing purchase any rider can make. Get them right and you can spend hours in the saddle without even noticing them. Get them wrong and every kilometre will feel like a hundred. The Rapha Classic Bibs have been designed for total comfort.

The most important component in any bib shorts is the pad and Rapha shorts use the top of the range pad from specialists Cytech. It has slim, body-contoured padding and a soft, chamois finish.

The shorts are made from a soft, matt-black Lycra with great stretch. The bibs are made from a luxury mesh material with a large cutaway section in the back to prevent overheating. For extra comfort in the saddle, Rapha's bib shorts have flatlock stitching throughout to prevent chafing and are finished with soft gripper around the legs. The shorts also have a small key pocket, Rapha logos on the legs, and are cut low at the front for calls of nature.

"One of the best chamois I've ridden. Not only are the shorts comfortable but they are long-lasting. Normally the material wears out before the actual chamois does! The uppers on the shorts keep their elasticity and the bibs stay up without sagging." - Kristian House, Rapha Condor JLT professional
"Rapha's product offers a slightly tougher, more supportive short material (polyester with spandex) that earned universal praise for durability in the washer (a few testers put the shorts through a year of punishment) and comfort on the bike." - Awarded Editor's Choice by Bicycling Magazine, June 2010

FEATURES

  • Matt black with Rapha logos. 
  • Deluxe pad by Cytech. 
  • Highly breathable back. 
  • Soft gripper and flat lock stitching. 
  • Rear key pocket. 

FABRIC

  • Soft, strong, matt finish lycra

CARE INSTRUCTIONS

  • Machine wash cool 30°
  • Wash dark colours separately
  • Do not tumble dry
  • Do not iron
  • Do not bleach
  • Do not dry clean

Rapha leg and waist sizing info

Waist: natural waist measurement is taken from above the hips, close to the navel.
Inside Leg: from the crotch to the base of the ankle.

    CM IN

  •   XS S M L XL XXL
    Waist 74.5 75-80 81-86 87-92 93-99 100+
    Inside Leg 76 81 81 86 86 91
  •   XS S M L XL XXL
    Waist 28 30 32 34 36 38
    Inside Leg 30 32 32 34 34 36
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable quality material Used these bib shorts for over a month now. Used them on my commutes to work and longer weekend rides for the past month. The price has been somewhat off putting however my current pair from another brand are overdue for retirement so I decided it was now or never. I have other Rapha products that I am happy with and with the classics guarantee, nothing to lose. The pad is very comfortable without being bulky. The material of the shorts is soft with discreet Rapha branding keep it classy. The girlfriend still points and laughs when I pull them on but what does she know? Great pair of bib shorts and I highly recommend them. Treat yourself!
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good, feels good and performs brilliantly What else to ask of a pair of bib shorts. Fit is just superb without it being constricting. Grippers are gentle but manage to keep everything in check. The back of the bibs is just a big hole that truly aids cooling. And don't get me started on the pad that is simply amazing. Firm but comfortable even after 100 miles on the saddle. I am not saying that other bib shorts on the market do not offer above features, but Rapha bib shorts simply do it with panache while also looking good. The only puzzling thing is figuring out the purpose of a picket at the back. I don't use team radio and can't fit iPhone in it. Hmmm.....
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The greatest bib shorts ever What can I say? I’ve ridden Rapha classic bibs for years. They’re incredibly well made and if you take good care of them they’ll last (almost) forever. They fit great … nice and snug but never binding … look great, are fantastically comfortable, and you won’t find a better/thicker chamois. They never slide around during a ride or get loose, no matter the weather (hot, cold, rainy, etc.). In fact, I’ve never had a problem with the legs or pad moving. There’s a large round cut-out in the back which improves breathability, though it’s easy to mistake it for an arm hole when you’re putting the bibs on. (Don’t worry, you’ll figure it out.)
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable all day. My first ride ever in the famous Rapha Classic bib shorts, was an epic ride that started in Bright Victoria. Setting out on what for me was a big day of riding I new I wanted some no fuss comfort. That's what you get from the classic bib. Transitions in and out of the saddle throughout the climbs were done with complete confidence. With the precision of the fit, there is nothing to get snagged on the saddle and when you're out of the saddle you are supported. After 120km and 2800 meters of climbing we got back to Bright had something to eat and continued to Mt Buffalo. No numbness, no chaffing, no excuses. Perfect!
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic quality I bought these 3 weeks ago on a recommendation from a friend but with a small part of be wondering whether they would justify the price tag. First time I put them on I knew they were different from my other bib-shorts. Don't get me wrong I have a couple of pairs of other brands I like but the Rapha classics just felt immediately very comfortable and were cut perfectly to fit. Worn them 4/5 times now and I like the rear bib element which leaves your back open and the leg grippers are perfect at holding in place. The Cytech pad is excellent as you would expect. I am already convinced my money has been well spent.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ended up being my favorite bib to date Started looking for some new bibs as my past bunch I had was doing time. Decided to look at Rapha as I have a bunch of kit, but no bibs. I was undecided on the PT or these. As per Rapha CS I bought one of each and watched what I went for on most days, it ended up being the classic bib short. These feel great once on and the fit and feel just makes them go away. They feel less warm than PT bib and I like the open back better too. The chamois is spot on for me and the same as PT, maybe just positioned a bit differently. Straps are maybe a bit bulky but they also go away when I ride. I ended up with 2 each, classic and PT, but they have different uses and I use these more.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Quality Have returned now 3 classic bibs all within a few months of each other due to stitching comming apart around the chamois. Have had no issue returning them. Just a pain constantly sending them back and waiting on there returns. Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend due to the money you spend on these
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Favorite Bibs After riding in Assos for a number of years I decided to give Rapha bibs a try. I chose the Classic Bibs and I am glad I did. I find the material to be quite soft and very supportive without binding. The chamois is first rate and when I'm riding I totally forget about them - that's a good thing. I had been finding that the material in my Assos was beginning to fade faster than I thought it should and so far I actually like the Rapha Chamois more than Assos. I've only had them for a couple of weeks so I can't speak to durability but they certainly feel like a quality garment so I fully expect them give me many miles of saddle time. I am 5'10'' and weigh 158 and found the medium fit me perfectly.
Date published: 2016-11-01
  • y_2016, m_12, d_7, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_347
  • loc_en_US, sid_BSS01, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_rapha

I am wearing a pair of pro team size L , i am 180cm tall,  65kg, 33inch waist. It is very very good fit with no room further. How is the size for a Classic?is it a bit looser?what size u recommend?Thanks!

Asked by: hcc Vincent
Hi, the Classic Bib Shorts do have a slightly more relaxed fit. You are in between sizes so there is a degree of personal preference. We recommend you choose large.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-11-28

I am planing on purchasing a pair of Classic Bib Shorts. I'm not sure if I should get them in a medium or large. I'm 5'10" and weigh 159 lbs. According to the sizing chart a medium would work for me (32" waist 32" inseam) but is that accurate?

Asked by: BobP
Hi, based on the measurements you have provided, we recommend you choose a medium. As always we do have a free 90 day returns policy if needed.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-12

Hi, I'm not sure either to get the Core or Classic bib shorts. My waist is 91cm. Based on your size chart I'm "L". Inside leg is 72cm & the chart says it "XS". I'm typical asian build. Height 175cm, Weight 73kg. Which one suits me best? Thank you.

Asked by: zakri
Hi, the Core Bib Shorts have an inseam length 1cm shorter for each size. Whichever pair you choose, we would definitely recommend you choose the large as it is best to base your choice on waist measurement.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-10-03

My waist measurement is 41" and my leg inseam is 29". (I'm fat! :) My current Specialized RBX relaxed fit bib shorts are large with an inseam of 11". Your chart calls for XXL for me. I'm concerned about fit & leg length. Can you help? Thanks!

Asked by: BrianH52
Hi, based on the measurements you have given me the best size to try would be XXL. These may be slightly long but we do offer a free 90 day returns policy if needed. Also, as this product is covered by the Classic Guarantee you can try them for 30 days and if you are not completely satisfied you can return them for a full refund/ credit.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-09-06

I recently purchased a bottle of the Rapha Merino Wash. Can I use that product to wash my Rapha Classic Bib Shorts? If not, what type of detergent do you recommend?

Asked by: Sean440
Hi, you could use this product with the Classic Bib Shorts. We recommend the Classic Bib Shorts at 30 degrees Celsius with a non-bio detergent.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-09-05

How long is the inseam on the size medium classic bib short? 

Asked by: AggieMike
Hi, the Classic Bib Shorts in size medium have an inseam of 24cm.
Answered by: Rapha_AW
Date published: 2016-09-05

All, Have a pair of the Core bibs - love them, however, at 6', with a 31" inseam, they are about an inch or two too long... Is the Classic the same length? Thanks!

Asked by: JonM n Chitown
Hi, the inseam length of the classic is actually 1cm longer for each size.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-08-18

Hi, I'm looking to buy a pair of bib's either these or the Core, I'm heavier set, 90k with 38 waist, I'm 5' 10.5 but my inside leg is only 30" , which product and size would you recommend? 

Asked by: Inky
Hi, taking into account both your waist and inside leg measurement, we would recommend you buy an XL. The Classic Bib Shorts have more stretch and so we would recommend you go with these if you order this size. As always we do have a 90 day returns policy if needed.
Answered by: Rapha_CD
Date published: 2016-08-17
  • 2016-12-09T08:23CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvqa, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_BSS01, PRD, sort_recentAnswersFirst
  • clientName_rapha

Rapha Service

If you have purchased a jersey this year and lost weight through riding, Rapha would like to offer you a 50% discount on your new size jersey.
Learn more

Take advantage of our 30-day guarantee on any of the Rapha Classic products below. If you aren't 100% satisfied within 30 days of riding in these products, you can send them back to us for a full refund/ credit.
Learn more

Rapha offers a free repair service where a crash or accident has damaged a garment or a failure has occurred even after significant usage.
Learn more

Similar Items